Kumquat

First off, my apologies if you were looking for something to read here over the last few days.  I have only three words: Major.  Writer’s.  Block.

It is something we all deal with.  Please bear with me while I get back into the swing of things.  I promise you will be rewarded for your patience.

First reward: baby update, complete with pictures!

Last week I went in for my first OB visit, received the first sonograms, and told my family the good news.  My mom had been suspicious for some time.  Moms always know.  At the time of the sonogram, I was still in week 10, in which the baby is supposedly about the size of a kumquat (about an inch long from head to bottom – they must not be able to measure head to toe yet).  Since that’s when we told my mom, that’s what she’s calling the baby.  Kumquat.  My son was kumquatsSesame (at the time I found out I was pregnant, we thought he was the size of a sesame seed, and even though he was actually a little bigger/older than that, that was his name until we found out he was a boy).

Incidentally, have you ever had a kumquat?  I did once, when my husband and I were trying to experiment with different fresh fruits and vegetables to see what we liked, in an effort to eat more real food and less processed junk.  It tastes a little like an orange and a little like a lemon.  It is one of those fruits that we put into the “sometimes” category – something to eat when we need a little more variety, but not one of our mainstays.  We tried it, and it’s not our favorite.  But we didn’t hate it.

Where was I?

Right.  Baby pictures.

sonogram

The official Week 10 sonogram.

sonogram

This one is a little better.

limeI like that second one; you can actually see an outline of a “real” baby, as I told my family.  Not a little alien sea monkey.  But these were taken in the middle of week 10, and today is the second day of week 12.  Baby is now the size of a lime, which is closer to 2 inches in length.  Weight is up to half an ounce.  I do like limes.  And grapefruit.

But this is not about food.  This is about pictures:

week 12

Yep, that’s me.  No, I haven’t gained very much weight yet.  My appetite hasn’t been great.  I’ve been nauseous almost every day, although I’m still only vomiting occasionally.  I guess that’s lucky, although if you ask me, lucky would be not feeling sick at all.  But I’m starting to feel a little better this week.  No doubt I’ll be eating everything in sight soon enough.

Mel

Share your two cents. And leave your email address, so I can respond to you personally!

